Baking for my family over the holidays

M&ms pretzel
Toffee
Image by spinnerin via Flickr
Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Bars
Image by brixton via Flickr
Christmas sugar cookies.
Image via Wikipedia
magic cookie bars
Image by notmargaret via Flickr
Hershey's Christmas Kisses
Image by hairyhenderson via Flickr
Peanut Butter Blossoms by Hershey's
Image by watchmojo via Flickr
Decorative Tin Lid
Image via Wikipedia

I usually bake something during the holidays.  My family likes peanut butter cookies with the Hershey kiss in the middle, also called Peanut Blossoms or Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies.  I also like to make Magic Cookie Bars.  My grandmother always made those.  They have coconut, nuts, sweetened condensed milk and chocolate.  So yummy.  And of course, I like to bake basic Christmas sugar cookies in festive shapes like stars, and reindeer with colored sugar sprinkles.  

My new idea this year is to bake a favorite for each person, wrap it in a decorative tin, and put it under the tree with the other gifts. 

Of course, I will have to keep my baking secret which may be hard.  I plan to do this for my husband, son and Mom.  For my husband I will make chocolate pecan bars.  They are a take on pecan pie.  My husband loves pecan pie.  For my son I am making pretzel M&M blondies.  Pretzel M&Ms are his favorite.  For my Mom I will make toffee.  This should be fun.  I hope it all comes out ok!

2 responses »

  1. Good luck with all your baking! So far I have only made cracker toffee and some chocolate peppermint fudge. My kids are anxiously awaiting the Peanut Butter Blossoms as well :). Good Luck with your blog!

Leave a Reply

