The Beginner’s Guide to Organizing – Laundry Area

I am just starting to organize.  Actually I started a couple of weeks ago.  My goal was to start organizing when my marriage blog ended.  It just ended on May 30th so here I go.

I started with our laundry area.  It was a huge mess.  I cleaned it up and moved a lot of the mess to the next room.  :)  Here are a few pictures.

This is my laundry sorting system.  Pretty basic but it let’s me play basketball with the dirty laundry.  It’s also a lot better than the piles all over the floor.  Here’s one up close:

We don’t have a new house with those cute laundry areas.  Ours is in the basement with concrete walls and pink carpet no less!  I tried to make it cuter with posters and labels.

I don’t want to spend a lot any money on organizing.  Of course I do spend some but I don’t want to.  I’ve been picking up baskets and crates at yard sales and cutting up old cereal and other boxes.  I’ve also found lots of great free labels online.  You can too!

Here are a few more pictures of the laundry area.  As you can see, the laundry area is also the storage area.

I’m just getting started.  It’s pretty fun and satisfying.  I can tell that like cooking and cleaning, organizing never ends.  But at least it creates a structure from which to work and will hopefully make life a little more ordered and easy.  Happy organizing!

By the way, my favorite organizing blogs are I Heart Organizing and Organizing Made Fun.  Be sure to check them out!

5 responses »

  1. love it. As you know, I am obssessed with organizing. Your tips, ideas and advice will come in handy. And it’s free. Thanks my friend.

    I hope this blog stays around much longer than 365 days.

    Well done.

    • Thanks Luisa. I am having fun. I will post what I’ve done in the kitchen next week. My goal is to post at least once a week. On any topic I please: organizing, cooking, cleaning, crafts, life, etc.

  2. Pingback: Organizing the kitchen « Butterflies and Bunny Rabbits

Leave a Reply

