My Aunt Louise

 

My Aunt Louise was a special and important person in my life.  She died on July 19, 2012.  Here are a few memories of her that I’d like to share:

  • My Aunt taught me about faith.  I remember sitting at her piano with her when I was a child and having her play and sing gospel music.  She shared her faith with me and told me that it got her through life and would help me too.
  • She wrote me many cards, notes and letters keeping in touch with me, letting me know how things were going with her and encouraging me to stay strong and work hard in school and later at work.
  • She taught me that although life could be hard, that you hang in there and work as hard as you can, keep a positive attitude and trust in God.
  • My Aunt adored my mother.  Although my mother was Aunt Louise’s older sister, she saw my mother as her younger sister and was a fierce protector of my mom in childhood and through her life.
  • My Aunt was fond of my husband, Walter Dunson, and he in turn was fond of her.  I have sweet memories of the times we spent together and on the phone.  Aunt Louise cooked for us and doted over us during our first visit to Detroit after we were married.
  • Aunt Louise taught me many things: about God, faith, hard work and determination, and loyalty.  I loved her, miss her but am happy that she is now at peace and with God.

Here is her obituary:

Louise Williams (nee Culver) was born February 13, 1936 to James Henry Culver and Uleys Dillard Culver in Bristow, OK.  Louise and her older sister Ruby moved to Detroit with their grandparents Mr. and  Mrs. Isiah Dillard in 1938.  The family later moved to Royal Oak Township where Louise attended Grant Elementary School and Lincoln High School in Ferndale, Michigan.

On October 18, 1958, Louise married Harold Coyle and to this union was born a daughter, Pamela.  Louise was a loving mother and very close to her daughter who preceded her in death on July 6, 2012.

Louise was blessed with many God given talents for which she had no formal training.  She had a beautiful singing voice and sang in the choir at various churches getting an early start at New Mt. Vernon Baptist Church.  She won second prize in a singing contest at Grant School for singing “I Saw the Harbor Lights.”  She also developed an ear for playing the piano and played for many years at Guiding Truth Baptist Church where she was a faithful member until her health began to fail.

Licensed as a cosmetologist, Louise also received specialized training in tailoring and industrial power machine operation.  She was awarded a certificate for service in the community by the late former Mayor Coleman Young and received second place in a patronage contest for the late State Senator Briscoe Bryant.  She was a very generous and caring person, always helping those who needed assistance in various ways.

Louise was also a loving and doting grandmother and great grandmother.  She was very fond of and conservator for her aunt, Bessie Rivers, who currently lives in a nursing home.  Louise was a devoted and loving sister to her sister Ruby.  Louise and Ruby were very close throughout Louise’s life.  Louise provided great encouragement to Ruby’s children, Karyl Dunson and Kevin Spriggs, while they were attending college and throughout their lives.

Although Louise had many physical and medical challenges during the last few years of her life, she was blessed to have a devoted cousin, Esther Bailey, who became a loving caregiver, helping her with many chores she was unable to do.

Louise departed this life on July 19, 2012 at Henry Ford Hospital and will be sorely missed by her family and many loyal friends.  She leaves to mourn her sisters, Ruby Brooks of Chevy Chase, Maryland and LaWanda Mathaw of Detroit, Michigan.  She also leaves 5 nieces, 3 nephews, 2 great grandchildren and a host of cousins.

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for sharing this. While a few short sentences can in no way sum up what a great person your Aunt was on this earth I can tell she will be sorely missed. I think I would have liked to have met her. My condolences to you.

    • That is so kind of you. She really was a special person. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful comment.

  2. Thank you for that heartfelt, well deserved , amazing tribute to a wonderful lady. I didn’t have the privelage of knowing her for as long as you did, but it wasn’t the lenght of time that matter most, it was the quality. She will be missed and I am looking forward to seeing her again. The legacy she left is one never to be forgotten.

    Well Done Aunt Louise

    • Thank you Luisa. The first part of the post are my remarks at the funeral. I’m glad you got a chance to read the obituary too.

Leave a Reply

