A Letter to Non-Believers

Source: goo.gl via Colby on Pinterest

 

Dear Non-Believer,

I know you are struggling and I am truly sorry.  Why people suffer is one of the biggest questions we all have.  I believe that why we suffer is part of God’s plan but I don’t understand it either.

What comes to mind is gold.  Gold is put through extremely high temperatures in order to purify it.  Struggling and suffering purifies us too.  The purpose of life is not to make us happy but to make us holy.  Sure there are happy times in life, many.  But as you are fully aware, there is also pain and suffering.  Only when we are with God will we be truly and endlessly happy.

Humans seek happiness on earth and we look to earthly things to make us happy.  There will be a dress I want and I think it will make me happy.  I buy it and I am happy for a moment.  But then I want shoes to match.  And jewelry.  And other accessories.  Even if I get all those things I will want another dress.  It’s a never-ending story of wanting.  It’s ceaseless and very unsatisfying.  Why?  Because what truly satisfies us and what we hunger for is God and his perfect love.

I know that you don’t truly believe in God nor do you have faith.  Please know that that can change at any time.  You could pray for faith or want it.  God could just give it to you.  I don’t know why I believe.  I just do.  It is a blessing and I am grateful for it.  I have always believed.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t get angry with God at times.  It doesn’t mean that I have always obeyed God.  It doesn’t mean that I have it all figured out or that I don’t suffer.  What it means is that I know that this life on earth is not all there is.  I know that the meaning of life is not just what we see.  I know that the unseen is much more powerful than what we see.  I believe that one day we will be told why everything that happened to us  happened.

My faith and belief in God get me through hard times.  All of my difficulties have been extremely painful to me.  I wouldn’t have made it through without God.  God was with me through it all.  He was a shoulder to cry on.  God also gave me a bigger context.  All I can do in this life is my part.  Be the best wife and mother I can be.  Love my family and friends.  I don’t have control over other people.  I barely have control over myself.  Why did God have me go through difficulties?  I don’t know for sure but maybe because I am so strong-willed and stubborn.  Some of us have to learn the hard way.  Most of us actually.  I believe there is a reason for everything.  We can seek to find out the reason but we may not see it.  That is where prayer for understanding and faith help.

When I go through hard times I try to ask God what he is trying to teach me.  I don’t know why God is allowing you to suffer now.  I can guess but only God can tell you.  But you have to ask him.  You have to give him a chance.  You have to forgive him for anything he has allowed to happen to you in your life that has hurt you.  You have to stop harboring anger against him.

It’s like a child and a parent.  When a parent doesn’t let a 4-year-old have too much candy they may cry and think the parent was being mean.  They don’t know that the parent is protecting them from toothaches and stomach aches.  The parent is causing the child pain but they are actually protecting the child from greater pain.

Our relationship with God is the same.  We are the children and God is the Father.  We are like 4 year olds that don’t know enough to understand why God does what he does.

So, I ask you not to believe in God because you will only believe when you believe.  But I ask you to take one step closer to God.  Don’t be afraid.  You have nothing to fear and nothing to lose.   God is a true comfort.  Stop being angry with God.  You might not realize it but he’s been by your side since the day you were conceived.  He will never leave you nor turn his back on you.  Try to see him and feel his presence.  He’s there and he’s waiting for you.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Karyl you did a super job with this most,I usually don’t read long post but this one grabbed and held me here. An I’m glad it truly was a blessing to see you reach out to unbelievers in the right way,I just love it and will be sharing it.
    Love you and so good to meet you :D :D

    • Thank you and you have really touched me! I’ve just been over on your blog and Ilove the most recent post and am excited to read more. You speak about the everyday issues I need to hear about. Thank you and love to you! :)

Leave a Reply

