Christmas Card Idea

I was planning on making cards by hand this year.  I love homemade cards.  They are fun to receive and fun to make.  In past years I’ve done photo cards but didn’t have a photo in mind.  Then I had an idea.  I took a photo of our house last year at Christmas time:

Although I like the photo, I didn’t like it for a card.  Recently I discovered a free app on Facebook called PhotoMania.  I experimented with a few effects like this one called Coal Sketch:

Although I liked the texture, it was not quite festive enough, nor can you see the wreaths clearly.  The one I liked the best was called Coloring Book.  It looks a bit mystical and fairytalelandish, don’t you think?  Here it is:

If you can’t afford or don’t want the expense of commissioning an artist to paint your house, this might do the trick.  I put a brown border on it at Shutterfly and made a cute card.  The inside says “Merry Christmas from Our Home to Yours!”

2 responses »

  1. you might be interested in my friend Christmas Pie Crafts (google her, the blog is on blogspot). She’s a UK crafter and she makes cards. She shares some great ideas that might be helpful to you!

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to tell me about your friend’s blog. I can’t wait to visit it. And your blog as well! Happy Fall!

Leave a Reply

