Nature Girl Turns Fashionista

Picture by Photogirl7

OK, I’m not really a fashionista.  But I’m on my way.  The old me didn’t wear any make-up, never cut her hair, wore birkenstocks and hippie dresses.  The new me watches “What Not To Wear,” does mini-makeovers on herself, shops, and reads Vogue magazine.  The old me would have been appalled and embarassed.  The new me is happy about my new style!  Now that doesn’t mean that I don’t bring a lot of the old me into the present.  I still like my clothes and shoes to be comfortable.  But they fit now!  I actually try things on before I buy them.

Isn’t evolution great?  You never quite know who you are going to be next year.  We can change.  And I am having fun learning how to to be a new me.  I still don’t want to come off as fake or uncomfortable in my own skin.  But there is something to be said about caring about one’s appearance and projecting a confident and more put-together look.  I’ve been reading a lot of blogs about Christian women looking frumpy.  I definitely have frumpy tendencies.  It’s hard not to when you are trying to be modest and not too flashy.  But you can be modest and non-frumpy and I think that’s what I’m going for.  However, this is a slow process.  Somethmes I wear a frumpy long skirt with a stylish blouse and sweater.  But I’m getting  there!

Leave a Reply

