Entitlement

Picture by Jennifer Donley

I am re-reading The Power to Prosper: 21 Days to Financial Freedom by Michelle Singletary.  http://www.michellesingletary.com/  It’s my second time.  I guess it didn’t take the first time.  The book uses biblical principles to help you become a better steward of your money.  

One of the issues I deal with is entitlement.  You might not think so.  I don’t act very entitled.  At least not when I’m out.  At home, I can be a bit of a Princess.  Ask my husband.  Yesterday my husband and I were talking about me going to the salon and he told me that I deserved it.  I told him that it was sweet of him to say and that I agreed with him.  I totally deserve to get my hair done every week.  And he deserves to have the things he wants.  We are good people and we work hard.

However, just because I deserve something doesn’t mean I should have it.  Unfortunately getting things has less to do with deserving and more to do with affording.  Rich people don’t deserve more than us but they can afford more.  I tell myself a lot that I deserve things in order to talk myself into things or justify things I’ve already bought.  But when I spend more than I have, I feel worried and anxious and that doesn’t feel good.  I deserve to live in peace and in order to do that I should only spend money I have, what I can afford.

That’s where entitlement can get us confused and in trouble.  Of course I deserve to have things.  But I am trying to not let my sense of entitlement get the better of me.

Leave a Reply

