Polka Dots

Picture by Annnie

You either like them or you don’t.  I am a full-fledged polka dot person.  They make me smile because they are bouncy, happy, peppy and bright.  Where did they come from?  Although polka dots seem to be named after the polka dance, there doesn’t appear to be any further connection between the two.  In fact, polka dots were popular in yet another dance – the flamenco.  Polka dots are very playful which is probably why I like them. 

I think I am going to write a children’s book about polka dots.  Something like Josie likes Dots.  But it will have to wait until I finish my other children’s book about pies.  So much to do – so little time.

If you want to cheer up yourself and the world, adorn yourself with some polka dots.  You can start out small, say a scarf or shoes.  Or you can go all out and wear a bright yellow dress with big red polks dots!

Leave a Reply

