Losing Weight En Francaise

Picture by Annie Mole

I read the book French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guilano over the weekend.  I had picked it up once in a bookstore and decided I wasn’t interested in it.  It just goes to show you that there’s a time and  place for everything because I liked it.  

It turned out to be half tips and half cookbook.  I’d consider buying it for the cookbook part.  I borrowed it from the library.  The main ideas are that French women are not fat because they walk a lot, drink tons of water, are satisfied when they eat so they eat less, and they eat much smaller portions.  Of course there’s a lot more but I won’t give it all away.

I tried some of the tips this weekend.  I drank lots of water.  Although I didn’t walk, I did exercise.  On Sunday I started practicing satisfaction – as well as sitting down while I eat, at the table, concentrating on my food.  For breakfast I had one waffle covered with fresh strawberries and blueberries, sprinkled with confectioner’s sugar.  It was so beautiful – I hardly wanted to eat it.  But of course I did.  And I enjoyed it.  Had I scarfed it down half  on the way to the couch and half while I was watching tv, I probably would have eaten 2 more. 

For lunch I had a BLT with 3 slices of bacon, juicy tomatoes, and romaine lettuce on white toast.  I used mayo but just a tiny bit.  So good!  Once again I was at the table sitting down.  So far this is working. 

When you read diet books, you start to hear some of the same things over and over again, although from different angles.  This is the French angle.  I tried to read my husband sections of the book and of course he responded the way he usually does when I try to read to him from books and magazines. “I do not want to read that book.”  Husbands!

I recommend the book but more I recommend common sense.  Eat less.  Exercise more.  Lots of water.  Enjoy the food you eat!

Leave a Reply

