Cookbooks

Don’t you just love cookbooks?  I started liking them as a child.  I guess I’ve always liked cooking.  Especially baking.  I started baking before I was 10.  Mostly cookies and brownies.  My grandmother used to bake with me.  She would make lemon meringue pie, cinnamon rolls, a to-die-for-chocolate cake with fudge icing. 

Picture by Jules Stone Soup

Picture by Seafarer

Picture by Biyu

Once I asked her to make peanut butter cookies for me. 

Picture by Whitney in Chicago

After she slaved in the kitchen and made them for me from scratch, I took one bite and said, “Oh, I meant ginger snaps.” 

Picture by Conomac

What a brat!

 When I was about 10, I ordered the Betty Crocker recipe file from the television.  It’s actually available on Amazon.

 http://www.amazon.com/Crocker-Recipe-Library-Plastic-Lidded/dp/B000RUQZF2

Can you believe it?  I wish I had kept mine.  Don’t really want to buy it now.  That was the precursor to online shopping.  I also ordered the Billy Graham Christian home learning class.  And I donated money to the Jerry Lewis telethon.

 http://www.mda.org/telethon/

My mother was so mad at me when I would get things in the mail I ordered.  Of course I had little jobs.  I sold Current Cards.  And there was always my allowance.  Isn’t it funny that we are already who we are even as a child?  Baking, studying Christianity, and shopping at 10.

But I digress.  I love cookbooks.  There is nothing like curling up in bed and reading cookbooks.  I also like tearing recipes out of magazines.  My husband loves the rip, ripping sound.  Not!  Don’t get me wrong.  I am not a gourmet cook.  I’m not even a great cook.  And I’m not being modest.  But I’m pretty good and I can makes some things well.  I don’t even love to cook.  I like it at times.  When I do like it though, I like it a lot. 

I especially like dessert cookbooks. I really only have one.  It’s a cookie cookbook called Got Milk.

 http://www.amazon.com/Milk-Cookie-Book-Peggy-Cullen/dp/B0007IOZXI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1277389500&sr=1-1

I received  two great cookbooks for Christmas last year.  They both fall into the category of memoir/cookbook.  The first is called Apples for Jam: A colorful Cookbook by Tessa Kiros.

http://www.amazon.com/Apples-Jam-Colorful-Tessa-Kiros/dp/0740769715/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1277388072&sr=1-1

Colorful it is.  It is even organized by color: white foods, red foods.  It’s beautiful to look at.  It’s a great picture book to just look through.  The second is called   A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table by Molly Wizenberg. 

http://authors.simonandschuster.com/Molly-Wizenberg/44642396/books

That book I read as though I were reading a novel.  It was a great read and each chapter had a recipe.  Reminiscent of Like Water for Chocolate, except that really was a novel and this is not.  It’s a cookbook! 

http://www.amazon.com/Like-Water-Chocolate-Installments-Romances/dp/038542017X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1277389577&sr=1-1

I am ashamed to say that I have not made one single recipe from either of these cookbooks. 

 Despite not using the cookbooks I already have, I want more.  Bad girl.  I want Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

http://www.amazon.com/Mastering-Art-French-Cooking-Set/dp/0307593525/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1277389641&sr=1-3

I also want a cake cookbook.  Not sure which one.  Any suggestions?  Do you feel like you have been online shopping with me?  Sorry to be a bad influence.

To conclude, I like cooking.  Because I like to eat, feed my family, create. There is something chemistry-like, magical about taking raw ingredients and turning them into a meal. It’s so basic and essential and you feel so earthy doing it.  Especially baking bread. 

Picture by Rexipe

But it’s hard to cook at night when you work all day. I much prefer cooking on the weekend. 

The end.

Happy cooking and bon appétit!  🙂

4 responses »

  1. i totally understand what you mean! cooking on weeknights is such a chore, but on weekends it is super fun!

    When choosing cookbooks, I totally go for amazing photography. If there are recipes that don’t have an accompanying photo I just know that I will never make them so there is no point buying a book without photos.

    My favourite are by Donna Hay, she is an amazing Australian food author and stylist, and she also has a magazine.

    http://www.donnahay.com.au/index.php

  2. K–I totally want to try even one recipe from Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Couldn’t try too many because there’s tons of butter in everything and I’m having a hard enough time losing the baby weight 🙂 Maybe we’ll try one when you’re here at the end of the month….a dessert maybe?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

