The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

Picture by Jeff K

I just heard about a book called The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender.  What a title!  Doesn’t it make you want to read it?  It’s so poetic and you can feel the emotion.  It’s about a girl who can taste people’s feelings in the food they make.  Love it!  I just ordered it from the library and will be sure to tell you if I like it.  Let’s see, what would she taste in my food?  Depends on whether it’s a weeknight or a Sunday.  If it’s a weeknight, she might taste bitterness!  🙂 

Lemon cake is my mother’s favorite cake.  I’ve always liked it but would choose chocolate over lemon most days.  And don’t forget my grandmother’s lemon meringue pie or my stepmother’s lemon bars.  Speaking of lemon, I love lemonade and I love lemon drops. 

Picture by Audrey JM 529

Picture by Katerha

Picture by R Stanek

Lemons are beautiful especially against a blue back drop.  I’d love to photograph some lemons.  I wish I could get into photography.  I used to be so into it.  Not anymore.  It’s like pulling teeth to get me to take a picture. Funny how we change.  I’d really like to get my inner photogirl back though.  Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

