The Heat of the Day

It has been mighty hot here in DC.  It was so hot yesterday that I thought my brother who lives in Denver was going to call and brag about how cool it was there and how sweltering it is here.  He’s like that.  It was so hot last night, I thought I was going to pass out on the way home.  And I’m not just saying that.  Moving was like a slow motion movie and I could hear sluggish sounds like a recording on low speed.  Thank God I had some water.

Picture by Creative Tools

My husband’s latest is that we have to avoid “the heat of the day.”  At first it sounded funny to me, coming from Michigan and growing up in Massachusetts.  But he’s right.  He said when he lived in Houston, people avoided the heat of the day.  That people died of heat exhaustion.  That’s no joke. 

 I’m reading a book now called The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder by Rebecca Wells. 

http://www.harpercollins.com/books/Crowning-Glory-Calla-Lily-Ponder-Rebecca-Wells/?isbn=9780060175313

She’s the author of Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood.  The book takes place in La Luna, Louisiana (another hot place) and here’s a quick excerpt:

“In summertime, I had to wake up early.  In Louisiana, if you’re not up by 6:30 or so, you miss the whole day, because it gets so hot that you have to do indoors stuff, trying to stay cool until evening, when you can go out again.”

The book is pretty good.  The kind of book I like and a perfect summer book.  It’s got great characters.  It’s about a kind of dreamy Louisiana town in the 60s.  It’s about hair and beauty shops and big lazy porches and cornbread. 

Picture by Molajen

Picture by House of Sims

And it’s a coming of age story.  Rebecca Wells is very easy to read.  And you feel warm, cozy and a little teary at times.

Back to the heat of the day, the war over the thermostat continues at my house. 

Picture by Armigeress

I try to keep it at 72 degrees to save money but husband keeps turning it down.  It was on 69 last night.  But you know what?  When I got in that house ready to pass out, I turned a blind eye.  🙂   

Picture by Moriza

Leave a Reply

