Walk Jingle Jingle

Picture by Beth Rankin

A friend asked me to take a belly dancing class with her. At first I was reluctant. I hate doing things on weeknights and it’s been a long time since I’ve taken a dance class. Well, I changed my mind and we had our first class last night. It was so fun!  I really love to dance. My first dance class was ballet when I was in elementary school. Then I took jazz, modern, African, flamenco, and salsa.  I have taken a lot of dance classes. But it’s been 10 or 15 years! 

One of the many things I like about dance classes is that you get to look at yourself in the mirror. I don’t mean that in an egotistical way. It’s just that other than getting ready in the morning, I rarely look at myself. In many ways, that’s a good thing. Who promotes vanity or that kind of physical self-absorption? But in dance class you are utterly aware of your body: it’s frame, posture, size, shape, and movement. Talk about not wanting to eat potato chips!  I took one look at my arms and instantly regretted the chips I’d eaten on the couch the night before.

I believe in a holistic approach to things, and balance. As far as dieting is concerned, the kind of body awareness that dance fosters is good for me.  It’s not just about sizes and pounds.  It’s about how you look and feel and move.  Besides, dancing to good music is just plain fun and great for getting your muscles working. I can’t wait to go back!

One more thing about belly dancing in particular – it’s all about getting in touch with your feminine side. Not a problem for me. I’ve always embraced my inner girl/woman.

If it’s been a while since you’ve taken a dance class, or if you’ve never danced, consider a dance class. It really is fun. And if you are a little scared or intimidated, invite a friend!

Leave a Reply

