Cake Mixes

Cake mixes. Yep. I used one recently. I’m not going to pretend that I don’t use them. My son loves them. He grew up eating them. When he was young, that’s how I baked. I made cookies and brownies from scratch but even brownies I started using a box mix. I’ve been reading one of my new baking books and the author asks why would anyone use a mix when you can easily make one from scratch. Well let me tell you. I can think of a few reasons.

They are really easy. No measuring problems. You know you have all the ingredients. No need for baking powder. You know what to expect. They taste pretty darn good. You don’t expect too much so you are not disappointed. They are not too hard! No folding required! Plus, these were the first cakes I made in elementary school.

Besides, I still got to apply some of my new baking knowledge. As I beat the batter for 4 minutes I told my son “you beat it not just to mix the ingredients but too add air for lightness and rising.” He seemed to think that was funny.

My cake mix cake is cooled on the table. I was supposed to completely cool before frosting. Seeing that it was after 9 pm and I wanted a slice that night, I frosted that sucker as soon as the 10 minute cooling timer went off.

Another reason to make a cake mix. I didn’t get home until 7:30 pm and it was a weeknight!

You go Duncan Hines!

Leave a Reply

