September 11

Flag of the United States of America

Image via Wikipedia

With each year that passes, I feel that we are all able to think about what happened a little more.  For so long, it was too painful to look at too closely.  Of course, people who lost someone didn’t have the luxury to turn away from it.

On Saturday, my favorite country music station played lots of patriotic music.  I love my country but it somehow seems too “us and them” to look at September 11 that way.  Us and them is the kind of thinking that caused the event, in my mind.  The cause to me was hurt and pain and anger and wanting to be right.  I hope that the human race can learn to live together in peace.  For that I pray.

Leave a Reply

