I got me a dutch oven!

dutch oven

Image by chotda via Flickr

I have wanted a dutch oven for the longest time.  I wanted one of the expensive Le Creuset ones but I found a nice Better Homes & Gardens version at Wal-Mart for about $50.  It’s nice and heavy.  My sister-in-law asked me recently what a dutch oven was and why I wanted one.  I just wanted one but the rational reason was that recipes often call for them.  My sister-in-law recently made enchiladas and she inspired me to make an enchilada casserole.  The recipe I found asked me to “saute beef and onion in heavy large Dutch oven over high heat until brown.”  See?  

The other thing I love about Dutch ovens is that they are very thick and heavy. I love using my cast iron skillet for things like this but it is pretty shallow. Dutch ovens are deep. And covered!  And can go from stove to oven to table.  And it’s pretty.  Yay Dutch Oven! Go Dutch Oven!  It’s your birthday, you can do it!

4 responses »

  1. I love the blue dutch oven. It would make such a perfect picture. Glad I inspired you especially since you are the one always inspiring me. By the way, for those who didn’t notice in my previous comment, I am the sister-in-law.

    Love ya

  2. love it! I’ve been wanting one too! Lots of recipes “call” for one, but I think that I, too, want one, just because I want one! And I love the color… I might be inspired enough to just go out and get one now! 🙂

    • You totally should! Once you have one you will use it a lot. It’s good for som many things – slow cooking tough veggies like cabbage and collard greens, legumes, smothered meats. Don’t try to find that color at Walmart though. Mine is a different color blue. I got that picture from Zemanta, the free photos through WordPress! 🙂

Leave a Reply

