Let the Type As go first

Train

Image by MichelKuik via Flickr

Last Friday I was on the train. I get off at the last stop. When we got to the end of the line, I wasn’t ready so I let everyone else get off the train while I gathered my things. I usually try to be one of the first people off and then I rush to the escalator where people are pushing and shoving. Last Friday night it occurred to me that the Type As (aggressive and competitive) will always be at the front. I can be that way.  When it comes to commuting, I am often one of the Type As.  I had a sneaky suspicion that if you let the Type As go first, you get left with the kinder, gentler, polite, and cooperative types. I can be that way too.  Sure enough it was just like I imagined. People were calm. Slow.  People were saying, “No, you go first.”  Unbelievable.  It was a different world. A better world. So, let the A types go first and enjoy.  And the funny thing, I maybe lost 5 minutes.  But it was oh so worth it. 

Leave a Reply

