Make Everyday Christmas

Gingerbread house - The Spirit of Christmas.

Image via Wikipedia

Here it is, early in the new year.  Exciting. I believe that 2012 will be a great year for all of us. We all just need to have a positive attitude and go after our dreams. One of my dreams is to spend Christmas with my brother and his family.  This year I spent with my husband, son and mother.  I am grateful for that.  My brother was missing and I felt it.  Christmas 2012 I want us all together. We can make it happen.

I am also going to start my Christmas shopping and making for Christmas 2012 now.  I want to keep the Christmas spirit all year-long. Christmas wears you out a little. So much to do: cooking, baking, cleaning, planning, preparing, decorating, wrapping, shopping, parties, cards, celebrating. It’s a lot of fun. When people say keep the Christmas spirit alive all year-long I think they generally mean the spirit of love, kindness and Jesus alive in your heart. I can’t argue with that. But I am also going to keep the Christmas spirit alive in a more literal sense. I am literally going to be thinking about Christmas all year. I think it really is my favorite holiday. And I am a holiday person. I love them all right down to St. Patrick’s Day. Christmas is so special to me. I love trying to make it a great holiday for everyone around me, including me. I know that preparation is the most important part of any project.  Abraham Lincoln said, ” Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe.”  So if I prepare all year-long – imagine the results!  It will be my Christmas hobby. 

I can’t believe I want a Christmas hobby when just 2 days ago our basement looked like the Christmas cyclone hit it!   

4 responses »

  1. I dont’ know how we will make this work but i had a great idea. We should meet sometime in the spring or summer and go xmas shopping. It would be a blast. I’m thinking we could go somewhere between CO and DC. We’ll have to start planning now. I’m sure we can find a cheap flight. My idea trip would be to NY for one night. I know the ticket is going to be expensive for one night but we can start looking now for something cheap. In fact, you can catch the bus and I can find a cheap flight. Frontier is always doing some kind of speacial. Imagine that trip added to our next memory book.

    By the way, you basement looked normal after xmas. I’m sure it is perfect now.

  2. I love Christmas but I can never get into it in January…wish I could asI love the feeling of it so much. I have yet to buy gift in the January sales…I’m more of a last minute person and have even done a Christmas Eve shop before!! Having said that, there are still boxes to put away and some ornaments are still out as they can be considered winter as well as Christmas in style 🙂 Oh, and my basement NEVER looks tidy…ever…perhaps something to work on this year 😉

    • Karyl Dunson

      Life is a series of thousands of tiny miracles. Mike Greenberg

      Karyl’s Blogs:

      I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

      Butterflies and Bunny Rabbits

      Honestly, I haven’t done any Christmas sale shopping. I’ve been sick and busy. So I like the idea of January shopping but don’t actually get started until March or April! And, tree is still up. All decorations come down this weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

