Binge-eating Disorder

Source: flickr.com via Lisa M on Pinterest

 

Hmmmm.  Binge-eating Disorder.  I picked a pretty picture for this post but bingeing is not a pretty subject.  I binged the other day.  I did an internet search for binge, wanting to read and blog about it.  I found information on binge-eating disorder and became convinced I had it.

Granted, I have incorrectly self-diagnosed myself with many disorders, including the mumps.  I am not a doctor.

Maybe I don’t have it.  I don’t binge 2 or more times a week.  Maybe once every 1-2 months.  I do yo-yo with my weight.  I do diet a lot.  I am a compulsive eater.

Whatever I am, I want to get control over my bingeing.  Things to try: meditation, prayer, mindful eating, Overeaters Anonymous.  All of these things should help.  I made a list for myself of things to do when I want to binge.  Here are three:

  1. Drink water
  2. Brush your teeth
  3. Call a friend

I feel discouraged that I am still struggling with this.  But I am happy that I binge much less often and that my binges are smaller.  Sometimes you have to be grateful for small victories.  Always, actually.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

