Dia de los Muertos

 

 

Dia de los Muertos, or Day of the Dead, is a Mexican holiday that is celebrated around the world. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for those who have died. The celebration takes place on November 1st in connection with the Catholic holidays of All Saints’ Day and All Souls’ Day (November 2). Traditions include making private altars honoring the deceased using sugar skulls, marigolds, and the favorite foods and beverages of the departed and visiting graves with these as gifts.

Some families build altars or small shrines in their homes with crosses, statues or pictures of the Blessed Virgin Mary, pictures of the deceased, and candles.  People spend time around the altar, praying and telling stories about the dead.

I have never celebrated this holiday but I’ve always wanted to.  I love the idea and the colors and look of the decorations.  Perhaps I will start celebrating Dia de ls Muertos.  I would want to choose one person each time.  I think I will start with my father this year.  We will definitely eat chocolate chip cookies.  He loved those.

 

Leave a Reply

