Mistaken for a Muslim Woman

Last night I was at the airport waiting for my driver.  It was late and very cold.  I was coming from Memphis where it had been about 30 degrees warmer.  I put on every piece of clothing I had in my bag and covered my head with a scarf. While waiting, there was a Muslim-looking woman.  I say Muslim-looking because on that night I was a Muslim-looking woman too.  She smiled at me as if to say, “Hi sister.”  I smiled back but felt a little uncomfortable.  I wasn’t trying to look Muslim but I was aware that I did before I even saw her.  Should I tell her that I’m not Muslim?  It was silly.  Who cares. She smiled at me. I smiled back.  We are sisters.  I am Christian.  She is Muslim, probably, but who knows for sure.

The picture above is of me in Morocco about 6 years ago.  I can pass for many things: Puerto Rican, Dominican, Ethiopian, Muslim.  I am none of those things.  I am Christian, of African descent (most likely West African), English, Irish, German and French.  Most importantly, I am human.

Leave a Reply

