Apple pie and cookbooks

My sister-in-law is trying out baking and I couldn’t be more thrilled.  I’m not sure she enjoys baking as much as I do.  I guess you either love it or you don’t.

 

For Thanksgiving, she may be baking an apple pie.  Have you ever heard the expression “Easy as apple pie?”  Apple pie is supposed to be easy.  If you cheat and buy a pre-made pie crust, like I do, that’s half the battle.  Unfortunately store-bought tastes better than my crust!  😦

 

I do recommend using fresh apples though, not canned, because it will taste better.  And it’s pretty easy to chop up apples.

 

I sent her 2 recipes for apple pie (Alton Brown and the Pioneer Woman).  I usually read a couple of recipes first and decide which appeals to me the most: ingredients, process, how long it takes, etc.

 

Once I decide on which to use, I read it again carefully to make sure I have all the equipment, ingredients, etc. Then I buy everything I need and try it out.

 

People that are into cooking often read cookbooks the way others read novels.  I love reading cookbooks.  There’s nothing like curling up with a great cookbook to drool over pictures, learn cooking techniques, and find good recipes and ideas.

 

Guten appetit! (German)
Enjoy your meal! (English)
Buen provecho! (Spanish)
Bon appetit! (French)

 

 

Leave a Reply

