Twinkie – Cultural Icon

 

I am obsessing over this Twinkie thing.  It’s been on my mind.  I’m not upset about the demise of the Twinkie as a foodie.  It’s not the taste of the Twinkie.  I’ve gone years not having a Twinkie.  It’s what Twinkies stand for.  The Twinkie was a big part of my childhood.  Born in 1963, Twinkies were a staple in my brown bag lunch:

  • bologna sandwich
  • bag of chips
  • apple
  • Twinkie

Apparently, I’m not alone.

Although they pre-dated the baby boom, Twinkies became a lunchtime staple for post-World War II generations of schoolchildren — something to take the sting off the bologna sandwich and the dutiful apple.

A Eulogy for the humble Hostess Twinkie, Adam Bernstein, Washington Post, November 16

The first Twinkie was baked in 1930, the year my Dad was born.  I had no idea.  I would have guessed the 1950s or 60s.  Probably because that’s when I was born.  Those are my ties to Twinkie but I think many people have their ties.

How does something become a cultural icon?  I don’t know, but when it dies, it gets even bigger.

 

Leave a Reply

