Happy Halloween!

 

I love Halloween.  I always have.  Being a Christian, I have run into many Christians who think celebrating Halloween is inherently evil.  I disagree.  For me Halloween is about candy, fun, dressing up, neighborhoods, community, and children.  I have fond memories of going trick-or-treating with my brother.  I also have sweet memories of taking my son out on Halloween night.  I still dress up to give out candy.  Last year I donned an orange and black apron and a witch’s hat.  This year I’ll wear an orange shirt with Trick or Treat across the front.  Am I witch or do I encourage witchcraft?  No.  To me, it is just dressing up and having fun.  Like being in a play.  I love handing out candy to the little ones (and some big ones) in the neighborhood.  It can be good, clean fun.

We may be Christians but I believe we should choose our battles and lighten up a little.

I am a Christian and I approve this message.

5 responses »

  1. Halloween is definitely a subject that isn’t agreed on. Differences of opinion can be good. It means people are thinking (hopefully).
    The fight isn’t to be among ourselves (Christians) because we feel differently than someone else about Halloween. The fight is …”against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.” Ephesians 6:12

Leave a comment